clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Odyssey Sims Wins the 2014 State Farm Wade Trophy and the 2014 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

Baylor's very own Odyssey Sims was named the winner of the most prestigious award in Women's Basketball, "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", the Wade Trophy.

Mark D. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

This is the third straight year a Baylor Lady Bear has taken home both awards. Following in two-time winner Brittney Griner's footsteps, "Lucky Lefty" dominated the court this year and earned the honor of being recognized as the best player in all of NCAA Women's Basketball. A hearty congratulations to Ms. Sims indeed!

Here's a (hopefully complete list) of all the awards O has earned this year:

  • State Farm Wade Trophy
  • Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award
  • Nancy Lieberman Award - Top point guard
  • WBCA All-American for the third consecutive season
  • TSBWA All-American for the third time
  • AP All-American first team for the second consecutive season
  • Big 12 Player of the Year
  • Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year
  • Finalist for the 2014 WBCA Division I Defensive Player of the Year presented by the United States Marine Corps
  • Big 12 Conference single season scoring record - 1,054 points (eight points shy of Jackie Stiles' record)

Baylor Records

  • All-time assists leader - 572
  • Most three-point field goals made - 223

Sic 'em Odyssey and thank you for an outstanding four years!