clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bryce Petty named to Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Petty will look to follow in the footsteps of last year's winner, FSU QB Jameis Winston.

Christian Petersen

Did you know that this is one of the awards Robert Griffin III didn't win in 2011?  Yeah, Andrew Luck took it home, leaving the opportunity for Petty to become the first Baylor winner ever this year.  Let's go ahead and do that, Bryce.

Considering this award can go to either a defensive or offensive player -- Manti Te'o took it home in 2012-- the Watch List for it is actually pretty interesting.  This year, the Big 12 has just four players on the list in Petty, TCU's Devonte Fields, KSU's Tyler Lockett, and OU's Trevor Knight.  4 out of a total of 50 is a bit underwhelming for the conference, if we're being honest.

As far as I know, this is the last Watch List of national renown for us to follow.  By my count, Baylor had 8 different players honored across the 15 major awards, several of them more than once.  To recap who was nominated for what (links go to individual posts for that award):

QB Bryce Petty: Maxwell, Davey O'Brien, Walter Camp
RB Rashodrick Linwood: Maxwell
WR Antwan Goodley: Maxwell, Biletnikoff
WR Levi Norwood: Hornung, Biletnikoff
OT Spencer Drango: Outland, Lombardi

DE Shawn Oakman: Bednarik, Nagurski, Lombardi
LB Bryce Hager: Bednarik, Nagurski, Lombardi, Butkus

P Spencer Roth: Ray Guy

Congrats to all of Baylor's nominees/honorees!