clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baylor LB Bryce Hager, DE Shawn Oakman named to Nagurski Watch List

Our Watch List Watch continues with the award given annually to the best defensive player in CFB.

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

So, we need to get something straight here right off the bat.  The Bronko Nagurski Award, according to the release today, is given every year to the "best defensive player in America."  Earlier this week, we talked about the Chuck Bednarik Award, which goes to the "college defensive player of the year."  I suppose it's possible that the best defensive player in the country may not be the college defensive player of the year, but still, there's some obvious overlap.  Just keep that in mind.

Thankfully, the fact that the two things seem to be somewhat redundant doesn't really matter, since we have the same two names, those of LB Bryce Hager and DE Shawn Oakman, on both lists.

11 other Big 12 players joined Hager and Oakman, giving the Big 12 thirteen players honored.  That is third-most in the country behind the Pac 12 (18) and the SEC (16).  Bet you didn't see that coming.  The other 11 Big 12ers are Malcom Brown, Quandre Diggs, and Cedric Reed from Texas; Sam Carter, Devonte Fields, and Chucky Hunter from TCU; Eric Stryker, Zack Sanchez, and Charles Tapper from Oklahoma; Ben Heeney from Kansas; and Ryan Mueller from Kansas State.  No players from Texas Tech, Oklahoma State, West Virginia, or Iowa State made the list.