clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AP Honors 11 Baylor Bears on All-Big 12 Team

Separate and distinct from the voting done by the conference itself, the AP today named 11 Bears to All-Big 12 teams, including 2 (Richardson and Williams) on the first team and 3 (Hager, Lackey, and Wade) on the second.


There was a lively debate after the announcement from the conference earlier about the fact that Kansas had more players listed on the First and Second all-conference teams (5) than Baylor (3), as well as Lache Seastrunk's omission from either of the two teams. I'm not going to touch either argument here other than to say that proponents will be happier with the AP's results. Lache Seastrunk was honored as the conference Offensive Newcomer of the Year and Baylor put 11 players on the AP's all-conference teams, including 5 on the first two.

Here's the release from Baylor with the full list:

Cyril Richardson, OL, first team
Terrance Williams, WR, unanimous first team
Bryce Hager, LB, second team
Eddie Lackey, LB, second team
Ivory Wade, OL, second team
Ahmad Dixon, LB, honorable mention
Nick Florence, QB, honorable mention
Cameron Kaufhold, OL, honorable mention
Jordan Najvar, TE, honorable mention
Lache Seastrunk, RB, honorable mention, Offensive Newcomer of the Year
Joe Williams, CB, honorable mention

I'm proud to see Williams a unanimous member of this team since he actually wasn't on the conference's own list for whatever reason, and I definitely think Eddie Lackey deserved the second team placement that he received here. I could argue that Tevin Reese deserves an Honorable Mention, as well, but that's splitting hairs at this point. Congratulations, Bears!