clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nine Baylor Bears Named to 2015 All-Big 12 Teams

In addition to dominating both individual line awards today, Baylor had 9 players receive First or Second-Team All-Big 12 honors today from the conference.

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

If you haven't figured it out by now, today is the day wherein the Big 12 announces its 2015 football award winners, including various Players of the Year, the Coach of the Year, and the All-Big 12 teams.  Baylor has already taken home two big awards today with Spencer Drango and Andrew Billings being named Offensive and Defensive Lineman of the Year, respectively, but that was just the beginning.  Nine total players, including those two, were named to the First and Second All-Big 12 teams.

Those players, beginning with the First Team selections:

  • LT Spencer Drango
  • WR Corey Coleman
  • DT Andrew Billings
  • CB Xavien Howard

Of those four, Howard is obviously the biggest surprise considering how long it's been since a Baylor CB was so honored.  He's had a great year, though, and deserved the recognition.  The other surprise, as you'll see below, is that Corey Coleman was not a unanimous selection, despite his stats.  Now the Second Team selections:

  • RB Shock Linwood
  • WR K.D. Cannon
  • RG Jarell Broxton
  • C Kyle Fuller
  • DE Shawn Oakman

To be honest, I'm somewhat surprised Blake Muir didn't make either of these lists considering he's made others, including ESPN's.  He just might not have the name recognition.

Below are the full charts from the Big 12's website, linked above.  They should let you see who has been recognized before, who was a unanimous selection, etc. etc. You can also click on that link to see the individual award members, if you missed them, as well as the Honorable Mentions.

2015 All-Big 12 Football First Team
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
QB Baker Mayfield Oklahoma Jr. Austin, Texas/Texas Tech
RB Samaje Perine @ Oklahoma So. Pflugerville, Texas/Hendrickson
RB DeAndre Washington ^ Texas Tech Sr. Missouri City, Texas/T. Marshall
FB Winston Dimel Kansas State Fr. Manhattan, Kan./Manhattan
WR Corey Coleman ^ Baylor Jr. Richardson, Texas/Pearce
WR Sterling Shepard @ Oklahoma Sr. Oklahoma City, Okla./Heritage Hall
WR Josh Doctson ^# TCU Sr. Mansfield, Texas/Legacy/Wyoming
TE Blake Jarwin Oklahoma State Jr. Tuttle, Okla./Tuttle
OL Spencer Drango @# Baylor Sr. Cedar Park, Texas/Cedar Park
OL Cody Whitehair ^ Kansas State Sr. Abilene, Kan./Abilene
OL Ty Darlington Oklahoma Sr. Apopka, Fla./Apopka
OL Nila Kasitati Oklahoma Sr. Euless, Texas/Trinity
OL Joey Hunt ^ TCU Sr. El Campo, Texas/El Campo
OL Le'Raven Clark @ Texas Tech Sr. Rockdale, Texas/Rockdale
PK Jack Cantele Kansas State Sr. Wichita, Kan./Kapaun Mt. Carmel
KR/PR Morgan Burns Kansas State Sr. Wichita, Kan./Trinity Academy
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
DL Andrew Billings @# Baylor Jr. Waco, Texas/Waco
DL Charles Tapper Oklahoma Sr. Baltimore, Md./City College
DL Emmanuel Ogbah @# Oklahoma State Jr. Houston, Texas/George Bush
DL Davion Pierson TCU Sr. Oklahoma City, Okla./Millwood
DL Josh Carraway TCU Jr. Flower Mound, Texas/Marcus
LB Dominique Alexander Oklahoma Jr. Tulsa, Okla./Booker T. Washington
LB Eric Striker @ Oklahoma Sr. Tampa, Fla./Armwood
LB Nick Kwiatkoski West Virginia Sr. Bethel Park, Pa./Bethel Park
DB Xavien Howard Baylor Jr. Houston, Texas/Wheatley
DB Zack Sanchez @ Oklahoma Jr. Fort Worth, Texas/Central
DB Kevin Peterson Oklahoma State Sr. Wagoner, Okla./Wagoner
DB Derrick Kindred TCU Sr. San Antonio, Texas/Wagner
DB Daryl Worley West Virginia Jr. Philadelphia, Pa./William Penn Charter
P Nick O'Toole West Virginia Sr. Corona, Calif./Mater Dei/Fullerton College
2015 All-Big 12 Football Second Team
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
QB Trevone Boykin ~ TCU Sr. Dallas, Texas/West Mesquite
RB Shock Linwood ~ Baylor Jr. Linden, Texas/Linden-Kildare
RB Wendell Smallwood West Virginia Jr. Wilmington, Del./Eastern Christian
FB Alex De La Torre Texas Sr. Denton, Texas/Ryan
WR KD Cannon Baylor So. Mount Pleasant, Texas/Mount Pleasant
WR James Washington Oklahoma State So. Stamford, Texas/Stamford
WR Jakeem Grant Texas Tech Sr. Mesquite, Texas/Horn
TE Mark Andrews Oklahoma Fr. Scottsdale, Okla./Desert Mountain
OL Jarell Broxton Baylor Sr. Gaithersburg, Md./Quince Orchard/Lackawanna
OL Kyle Fuller Baylor Jr. Wylie, Texas/Wylie
OL Jamison Lalk Iowa State Sr. Council Bluffs, Iowa/Abraham Lincoln
OL Halapoulivaati Vaitai & TCU Sr. Haltom, Texas/Haltom
OL Tyler Orlosky West Virginia Jr. Cleveland, Ohio/St. Edward
PK Jaden Oberkrom ~ TCU Sr. Arlington, Texas/Martin
KR/PR Jakeem Grant Texas Tech Sr. Mesquite, Texas/Horn
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
DL Shawn Oakman ~ Baylor Sr. Philadelphia, Pa./Penn Wood/Penn State
DL Dale Pierson Iowa State Sr. Bakersfield, Calif./Independence/Pasadena CC
DL Travis Britz Kansas State Sr. Harrisonville, Mo./Harrisonville
DL Charles Walker Oklahoma So. Garland, Texas/South Garland
DL Jimmy Bean Oklahoma State Sr. Denton, Texas/Guyer
LB Peter Jinkens Texas Sr. Dallas, Texas/Skyline
LB Elijah Lee Kansas State So. Blue Springs, Mo./Blue Springs
LB Jordan Evans Oklahoma Jr. Norman, Okla./Norman North
DB Fish Smithson Kansas Jr. Baltimore, Md./Highland/Hartnell College
DB Ahmad Thomas Oklahoma Jr. Miami, Fla./Miami Central
DB Jordan Thomas Oklahoma So. Klein, Texas/Klein
DB Jordan Sterns Oklahoma State Jr. Cibolo, Texas/Steele
DB KJ Dillon West Virginia Sr. Apopka, Fla/Apopka
P Austin Seibert Oklahoma Fr. Belleville, Ill./Belleville West
# - Unanimous selection
@ - 2015 first team selection
& - 2015 second team selection
~ - 2014 first team selection
^ - 2014 second team selection
Players listed at each position alphabetically by school.
A tie in voting created an additional offensive lineman spot on the first-team.