clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Football Awards Released: Spencer Drango Co-OL of the Year, 8 Bears make All-Big12 Team

Spencer Drango was honored by the Big 12 as Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year, plus 8 Bears made the All-Big 12 1st and 2nd Teams. Check out the full list!

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

All morning long the Big 12 Conference has been announcing the winners of its All-Big 12 awards, with each announcement coming 5-10 minutes apart and the full All-Big 12 squad being released at 11:30 CT. Baylor's Spencer Drango was announced as the Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year, along with B.J. Finney of Kansas State. Here's the announcement:

With the award, that means Baylor lineman has won Offensive Lineman of the Year in each of the past three seasons. Cyril Richardson won it in both 2012 and 2013.

Drango's award does not come without its own sense of irony for Baylor fans, given the fact that he is the sole Bear that was awarded an individual honor and is shared with another player. The Bears also share the Big 12 Championship with TCU, despite the fact that the Bears defeated the Frogs on the field of play.

The Bears earned one individual honor, while TCU earned three and both K-State and Oklahoma State had two awards apiece. The awards are voted on by each of the ten head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players. Here's the list of individual awards:

Defensive Newcomer of the Year Shaq Riddick, West Virginia, DL, Sr, Akron, Ohio
Offensive Freshman of the Year Samaje Perine, Oklahoma, RB, Pflugerville, Texas
Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year Gary Patterson, TCU (14th year)
Defensive Freshman of the Year Kamari Cotton-Moya, Iowa State, DB, Bakersfield, Calif.
Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year Spencer Drango, Baylor, Jr, Cedar Park, Texas
B.J. Finney, Kansas State, Sr, Andale, Kan.
Offensive Player of the Year Trevone Boykin, TCU, QB, Jr, Dallas, Texas
Defensive Lineman of the Year Emmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma State, So, Houston, Texas
Offensive Newcomer of the Year Tyreek Hill, Oklahoma State, ATH, Jr, Pearson, Ga.
Defensive Player of the Year Paul Dawson, TCU, LB, Sr, Dallas, Texas
Special Teams Player of the Year Tyler Lockett, Kansas State, PR/KR, Sr, Tulsa, Okla.

All-Big 12 Team

After releasing the individual honors, the Big 12 announced the first- and second-team All-Big 12 honors. Baylor's Shock Linwood, Spencer Drango, Andrew Billings, and Shawn Oakman make the first team, while Bryce Petty, Corey Coleman, Bryce Hager, and Spencer Roth all make the All-Big 12 Second Team. While somewhat surprising that Coleman didn't earn first-team honors, Both Shepard and Tyler Lockett were outstanding for their respective schools. Congratulations to all the Bears who received awards! Check below the table for those Bears that received Honorable Mention.

2014 All-Big 12 Football First Team
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
QB Trevone Boykin TCU Jr. Dallas, Texas/West Mesquite
RB Shock Linwood Baylor So. Linden, Texas/Llinden-Kildare
RB Samaje Perine Oklahoma Fr. Pflugerville, Texas/Hendrickson
FB Glenn Gronkowski Kansas State So. Amherst, N.Y./Williamsville North
WR Tyler Lockett * Kansas State Sr. Tulsa, Okla./Booker T. Washington
WR Sterling Shepard Oklahoma Jr. Oklahoma City, Okla./Heritage Hall
WR Kevin White West Virginia Sr. Plainfield, N.J./Emmaus/Lackawanna College
TE EJ Bibbs ^ Iowa State Sr. Chicago, Ill./Bogan/Arizona Western CC
OL Spencer Drango * Baylor Jr. Cedar Park, Texas/Cedar Park
OL B.J. Finney * Kansas State Sr. Andale, Kan./Andale
OL Daryl Williams ^ Oklahoma Sr. Lake Dallas, Texas/Lake Dallas
OL Tyrus Thompson Oklahoma Sr. Pflugerville, Texas/Pflugerville
OL Le'Raven Clark ^ Texas Tech Jr. Rockdale, Texas/Rockdale
PK Jaden Oberkrom TCU Jr. Arlington, Texas/Martin
KR/PR Tyler Lockett * Kansas State Sr. Tulsa, Okla./Booker T. Washington
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
DL Andrew Billings Baylor So. Waco, Texas/Waco
DL Shawn Oakman Baylor Jr. Lansdowne, Pa./Penn Wood/Penn State
DL Ryan Mueller * Kansas State Sr. Leawood, Kan./St. Thomas Aquinas
DL Emmanuel Ogbah Oklahoma State So. Houston, Texas/George Bush
DL Malcom Brown Texas Jr. Brenham, Texas/Brenham
LB Ben Heeney ^ Kansas Sr. Hutchinson, Kan./Hutchinson
LB Eric Striker ^ Oklahoma Jr. Seffner, Fla./Armwood
LB Paul Dawson TCU Sr. Dallas, Texas/Skyline/Trinity Valley CC
DB JaCorey Shepherd Kansas Sr. Mesquite, Texas/Mesquite Horn
DB Randall Evans Kansas State Sr. Miami, Fla./Palmetto
DB Zack Sanchez Oklahoma So. Fort Worth, Texas/Central
DB Chris Hackett TCU Jr. Tyler, Texas/John Tyler
DB Karl Joseph West Virginia Jr. Orlando, Fla./Edgewater
P Trevor Pardula Kansas Sr. San Jose, Calif./Leigh/De Anza College
* - Repeat first team selection from last season.
^ - Second Team selection in 2013.
Players listed at each position alphabetically by school.
2014 All-Big 12 Football Second Team
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
QB Bryce Petty Baylor Sr. Midlothian, Texas/Midlothian
QB Jake Waters Kansas State Sr. Council Bluffs, Iowa/Iowa Western CC
RB Aaron Green TCU Jr. San Antonio, Texas/Madison/Nebraska
RB Malcolm Brown + Texas Sr. Cibolo, Texas/Steele
RB DeAndre Washington Texas Tech Jr. Missouri City, Texas/T. Marshall
FB Aaron Ripkowski Oklahoma Sr. Dayton, Texas/Dayton
WR Corey Coleman Baylor So. Richardson, Texas/Pearce
WR Curry Sexton Kansas State Sr. Abilene, Kan./Abilene
WR Josh Doctson TCU Jr. Mansfield, Texas/Legacy/Wyoming
TE Jimmay Mundine Kansas Sr. Denison, Texas/Denison
OL Cody Whitehair + Kansas State Sr. Abilene, Kan./Abilene
OL Adam Shead Oklahoma Sr. Cedar Hill, Texas/Cedar Hill
OL Joey Hunt TCU Jr. El Campo, Texas/El Campo
OL Halapoulivaati Vaitai TCU Jr. Haltom, Texas/Haltom
OL Mark Glowinski West Virginia Sr. Wilkes-Barre, Pa./GAR Memorial/Lackawanna College
PK Josh Lambert West Virginia So. Garland, Texas/Garland
KR/PR Tyreek Hill Oklahoma State Jr. Pearson, Ga./Coffee/Garden City CC
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
DL Chuka Ndulue Oklahoma Sr. Dallas, Texas/Dallas Jesuit Prep
DL Jordan Phillips Oklahoma So. Towanda, Kan./Circle
DL Chucky Hunter + TCU Sr. West Monroe, La./West Monroe
DL Cedric Reed + Texas Sr. Cleveland, Texas/Cleveland
DL Pete Robertson Texas Tech Jr. Longview, Texas/Longview
LB Bryce Hager Baylor Sr. Austin, Texas/Westlake
LB Jonathan Truman Kansas State Sr. Kechi, Kan./Kapaun Mt. Carmel
LB Jordan Hicks Texas Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio/Lakota West
DB Dante Barnett Kansas State Jr. Tulsa, Okla./Booker T. Washington
DB Danzel McDaniel Kansas State Jr. Dolton, Ill./Dodge City CC
DB Sam Carter + TCU Sr. New Orleans, La./Alief Hastings
DB Kevin White TCU Sr. Round Rock, Texas/Stony Point
DB Quandre Diggs Texas Sr. Angleton, Texas/Angleton
P Spencer Roth ~ Baylor Sr. Knoxville, Tenn./Catholic
A tie in voting created an additional second-team quarterback & running back spot.
+ - Repeat second team selection from last season.
~ - 2013 first team selection

Honorable Mentions from Baylor

Tre'Von Armstead (TE), Andrew Billings (DPofY), Beau Blackshear (DL), K.D. Cannon (OFofY & WR), Kyle Fuller (OL), Antwan Goodley (WR), Xavien Howard (DB), Blake Muir (OL), Levi Norwood (K/PR), Shawn Oakman (DPofY, DLofY), Orion Stewart (DB)