clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baylor Basketball Big 12 Awards: Two First Team, Mitchell DPOY and Drew is Coach of the Year

NCAA Basketball: Big 12 Tournament-Iowa State vs Oklahoma State William Purnell-USA TODAY Sports

For the second time in as many seasons, Scott Drew is the Big 12 Coach of the Year.

Drew led Baylor to the school’s first conference title since 1950. Despite playing four fewer games than some teams, Baylor won more conference games than anyone else.

The Bears earned two All-Big 12 first team selections, including a unanimous honor for Jared Butler.

Shockingly, Cade Cunningham won the conference’s player of the year award. I’ll write more about that decision soon.

Davion Mitchell became the first Baylor player to win Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. A well-deserved honor for “off night”—a nickname he earned for making the best players have an “off night” while playing him.

Vital and Butler joined Mitchell on the all defensive team.

MaCio Teague earned Third Team All-Big 12, which made the second year he earned all conference honors.

Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua made the All-Newcomer Team.

Here are the full teams:


Coach of the Year: Scott Drew, Baylor

Player of the Year: Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State

Sixth Man Award: Kai Jones, Texas

Most Improved Player: David McCormack, Kansas

Defensive Player of the Year: Davion Mitchell, Baylor

Newcomer of the Year: Mac McClung, Texas Tech

Freshman of the Year: Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State

First Team

Jared Butler, Baylor*

Davion Mitchell, Baylor

Austin Reaves, Oklahoma

Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State*

Derek Culver, West Virginia

Second Team

Marcus Garrett, Kansas

David McCormack, Kansas

Andrew Jones, Texas

Mac McClung, Texas Tech

Miles McBride, West Virginia

Third Team

MaCio Teague, Baylor

Rasir Bolton, Iowa State

RJ Nembhard, TCU

Matt Coleman III, Texas

Courtney Ramey, Texas

Terrence Shannon Jr., Texas Tech

Honorable Mention: Mark Vital (Baylor), Jalen Coleman-Lands (Iowa State), Ochai Agbaji (Kansas), Christian Braun (Kansas), Mike McGuirl (Kansas State), De’Vion Harmon (Oklahoma), Isaac Likekele (Oklahoma State), Mike Miles (TCU), Greg Brown (Texas), Kai Jones (Texas), Jericho Sims (Texas), Kyler Edwards (Texas Tech), Kevin McCullar (Texas Tech), Sean McNeil (West Virginia), Taz Sherman (West Virginia)

All-Defensive Team

Jared Butler, Baylor

Davion Mitchell, Baylor*

Mark Vital, Baylor*

Marcus Garrett, Kansas*

Gabe Osabuohien, West Virginia

All-Newcomer Team

Jonathan Tchamwa Tchatchoua, Baylor

Jalen Wilson, Kansas

Greg Brown, Texas

Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State*

Mac McClung, Texas Tech

All-Freshman Team

Jalen Wilson, Kansas*

Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State*

Mike Miles, TCU

Greg Brown, Texas*

Jalen Bridges, West Virginia

* - unanimous selection