clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Logan Brown, Baylor's First Gold Glove Winner

Logan Brown is Baylor's first ever Gold Glove winner

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.


In today's Breaking News (like so new, the official websites don't have the announcements up at the time of writting), Logan Brown has been named to the 2014 Rawlings Division I Gold Glove Team. Each position on the field had only one representative. That means that unlike the 90+ Freshman All Americans that Louisville Slugger announced, this is an exceptionally elite club. Don't get me wrong, being named a Freshman All American is still an exclusive club (you may have noticed that we didn't have any), but this is elite.

Congratulations to Logan Brown on a great defensive season. As a returning senior, we can expect that with his defensive skills, he will be selected in the draft if he can maintain that performance and improve offensively. For 2014, Logan had 175 putouts and 4 assists en route to a .994 fielding percentage. Brown joins Longhorns' second baseman Brooks Marlow as the only Big XII representatives.

Brown joins former Bear Kelly Shoppach as the only Bears baseballers to have ever won a national defensive award. Rounding out the 2014 Division I Gold Glove team are: Chris Hoo (C, Cal Poly), Michael Pomeroy (1B, Grand Canyon), Vince Conde (SS, Vanderbilt), Matt Chapman (3B, Cal State Fullerton), Matt Chapman (3B, Cal State Fullerton), Austin Cousino (OF, Kentucky), Pete Leonello (OF, Long Island), and Luke Weaver (P, Florida State).

Sic 'Em, Logan!