clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Watch List Watch: Cyril Richardson named to Outland List

Continuing our look at Baylor's players honored so far with inclusion on the preseason watch lists for major awards, Cyril Richardson, Baylor's starting LT in 2011 and probable starting LG in 2012, was named this morning to the list for the Outland Trophy, awarded each year to the best interior offensive lineman in college football. Richardson joins WR Terrance Williams (Maxwell) and TE Jordan Najvar (Mackey) as Baylor's representatives on the preseason lists so far. Six other Big 12 players join Richardson on the 71-member list: Blaize Foltz (TCU), Ben Habern (Oklahoma), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Lane Taylor (Oklahoma State), LaAdrian Waddle (Texas Tech) and Mason Walters (Texas).

As I was reminded the other day when bemoaning Ivory Wade's snub on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy (best center), these watch lists are not exclusive of who can eventually win the award. Players can be "added" (I put that in quotation marks because it's not really a running list) as the season progresses. Still, it is an honor to be included on the preseason lists and good publicity for the program. Congratulations, Cyril!